It's Monday · Uncategorized

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/25

Image result for the ladies' paradise emile zola

Wow-Alex-Is-Really-Lame-Time: I’m reading Ladies’ Paradise by Emile Zola, a title that sounds befitting of grocery store romance novels and trashy chick lit. At 480 pages, this one is a fairly long one, and most people would probably raise an eyebrow at this one.

At the title, you would assume that it’s just some kind of Victorian-era romance popular among the middle-aged populations. It goes a lot further than that, though; the Ladies’ Paradise is about the rise of the department store during 18th-century France. Uber-feminista MC Denise moves into town after the death of her parents and seeks out a job at rising department store The Paradise. I’m less than halfway through on this one, but it’s so far a really great read. Capitalism!

“I would rather die of passion than of boredom.”  – Emile Zola, Ladies’ Paradise.

But I do realize how boring the subject matter sounds. Retail in the Victorian era, really? For those who are less inclined to dive into this one by text, the BBC mini-series is really good too. It’s on Netflix!

Image result for the paradise bbc gifImage courtesy of Giphy.

In completely unrelated news, these past few days have been pretty dim for me – I’ve been going through this existential crisis. The fact that I’ve discovered the soundtrack to Tick, Tick… Boom! probably isn’t helping. It’s a musical all about how main character Jon feels as though he’s making the wrong choice by pursuing a career in the arts.

It’s basically my entire-life-fears. If you’ve got a second, listen to Boho Days from the musical. It’s by the same guy who wrote RENT, so it’s the same kind of death-of-Bohemia theme. It also talks all about how the main character is getting older and he hasn’t accomplished anything so obviously he’s a failure.

Lots of internal screaming. Lots of internal screaming.

WORD COUNT: 317.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/25

  1. I feel you completely on that existential crisis thing! On a somewhat related note: After listening to Boho Days, I realized that it was by Jonathon Larson. The same Jonathon Larson that wrote the musical Rent, which I learned in my music appreciation class this semester, was based off of La Bohème, an opera by Giacomo Puccini. His name is really fun to say.

    Like

  2. I love how you make something that doesn’t seem to be important, very relevant! You go deeper than what’s expected, it’s almost as if you see the world from a different point of view! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  3. Wowwww. Your existential crisis is my constant back and forth in my mindddd! I’ve decided to attempt a double-major, but I’m worried I won’t be able to dedicate myself fully to both. However, one of my professors told me it’s all about time management and that you have life kicked in the butt once you figure out how to set your own reasonable yet flexible-ish limits and make yourself bounce back to them whenever you might start to slip. Yeah. Oh! Also, the book sounds good. I thought of Coco Chanel when I was reading it, to be honest.😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

